skip to Main Content
Visual Arts


The VAC is a non-profit cultural organization, governed by a voluntary Board of Directors and headed by an Executive Director, with an administrative staff of 12 and a teaching faculty of approximately 50. Board members work with the Executive Director and other community leaders through various committees to oversee strategic decision making with respect to the Centre’s operations and activities.

Board of Directors:

The Board of Directors volunteers their time and energies to the ongoing success of the VAC.

Current Directors (2018-2019) are:

Bonnie Shemie, President
Theresa Passarello, Vice-President
Lorraine Deley, Treasurer
Sara Peck Colby, Secretary
Nicolas Bertram
Céline Comtois
Samantha Hayes
Jo-Ann Kane
Alexandra MacDougall
Grace Sebeh Byrne
Rebecca West
Fern Whitehouse

Ambassador’s Circle:

Troy McClure
Victoria LeBlanc
Tom Thompson
Nikola Reford


The VAC’s committees, directed by board members but including individuals from the broader community, support the diverse aspects of the Centre’s operations, guarantee its continued well-being and effective management as well as foster links with the wider cultural community. The committees – active working groups which meet regularly throughout the year – include:

  • Building Committee
  • Fundraising and Special Events Committee
  • Gallery Committee
  • Nominating Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Strategic Development Committee

Back To Top